What Happens If You’re in a Car Accident Without Insurance in Utah?
CASE EVALUATIONS ARE FAST, EASY, AND FREE.
Car insurance has morphed so much over time that, despite its necessity, most people don’t know much about how it works until they’re faced with a real-life situation. While the state of Utah has laws to protect drivers and passengers on the road, those laws can become muddled fairly quickly based on the scenario you find yourself in.
A car accident lawyer in Utah can tell you more about the insurance laws for driving in Utah and what you should do if you’re hit by an uninsured driver.
Car insurance is mandatory in the state of Utah for all drivers, and it must include both bodily and property damage liability. A car accident attorney in Salt Lake City knows that the state requires a $25,000 minimum for bodily injury for a single person, a $65,000 minimum for bodily injury per accident, and $15,000 for property damage per accident.
Insurance is required for drivers in 49 states to cover any number of events that can occur, both mechanical and medical. (New Hampshire is the only state in the US that does not require insurance, though drivers are still responsible for paying in an accident if they are at fault.) Each state is required to set its own minimums for different categories, and you can imagine how tricky these limits are, considering one hospital stay after a serious car accident could easily cost well into six figures.
An SLC car accident attorney will tell you that most Utah policies offer uninsured or underinsured coverage unless the policyholder specifically waives their right to it. If you have waived your right to it, it might be time to rethink your decision. The type of person who has the bare minimum of insurance coverage is unlikely to be able to cover the rest of the medical bills.
Yes. This means that even if you weren’t at fault for the accident, you must file through your own insurance carrier for medical expenses that you have incurred. However, the no-fault laws do not apply to property damage of any kind. Should your car or any other property be damaged due to an accident, a car accident lawyer in Utah will tell you to file a claim against the at-fault driver.
PIP stands for personal injury protection (PIP), and it refers to the amount of coverage that you’ll need for yourself in a no-fault state. A car accident attorney Utah knows that the bare minimum in this state you’ll need for yourself is $3,000. If your medical costs total more than $3,000, a car accident lawyer in Utah may advise you to file for General Damages with the at-fault driver, which can include anything from pain and suffering to permanent scarring.
Car insurance carriers each have their own terms and conditions when it comes time to pay for damages and injuries in car accidents. If you’re filing with your own carrier for medical expenses for under $3,000, you’ll work with them directly to receive a payment.
If you’re filing for property damage, you’ll work with the at-fault driver’s insurance in order to receive restitution. However, no matter what their individual protocols are, a car accident attorney Utah knows that carriers are bound by ethical guidelines. Each carrier is required to answer questions promptly and transparently.
For instance, if you’re requesting a check to cover lost wages from your job after being in the hospital, the insurance company is required to review the information and settle the matter. Should they either deny the request or adjust the amount, they must communicate with you based on the available facts of the case.
As with any accident, safety comes first. It’s important to take note of all injuries and contact emergency personnel if needed. Keep in mind that certain physical injuries, such as brain injuries, may seem negligible directly after the accident. To avoid the risks of concussion or internal bleeding, it’s important not to take chances with your health.
The best thing that you can do if you’re hit by an uninsured driver is to get the police involved immediately. Their presence doesn’t just help you gather more evidence to use in your claim (as they’ll document their own version of the events), it holds the other driver accountable to the laws of the road. Take pictures, collect eyewitness statements, and exchange information (driver’s license numbers, phone numbers, etc).
People may choose to forego insurance for any number of reasons in their state, though the most likely is due to cutting costs. A car accident lawyer Utah knows how to work within the system so that you get the assistance you need.
The right SLC car accident attorney has more than just legal experience under their belt. You need to find a professional who has worked with different insurance carriers and types of accidents to know how an adjuster or judge is likely to approach your case. To find a car accident attorney in Salt Lake City who can take the next steps, contact Craig Swapp & Associates to find out how we can help.