Utah Car Accident Lawyer
CASE EVALUATIONS ARE FAST, EASY, AND FREE.
Don’t allow a negligent driver’s poor decision to leave you buried in medical debt and other losses. Get the compensation you are due by seeking help from a vehicle wreck lawyer.
After a car crash in Utah, probably the only thing you want to do is get your life back to normal and put the wreck behind you. Unfortunately, the injuries and auto damage caused by car accidents usually require a substantial amount of money to recover from, and if your injuries were serious enough, you might be looking at either a long road to recovery or permanent changes to your lifestyle. This is where your insurance company is supposed to step in, but getting a fair settlement can be a challenge all its own.
By working with a Utah car accident attorney from Craig Swapp & Associates, you can get the full car accident settlement that you’re entitled to from the auto insurance company. We won’t be satisfied with merely getting a settlement; we want to make certain that you get fully compensated for what you’ve been through because of your Utah car accident.
Because Utah is a no-fault state for car insurance, it creates an additional step on the road to full compensation. You’ll first need to file a claim with your own personal injury protection (PIP) policy before you can seek damages from the at-fault party in your accident. Sadly, even your own auto insurance is likely to lowball your payout, but your Utah car crash lawyer can help you with them, too.
If your medical bills total more than $3,000; your injuries involve permanent disfigurement, impairment, or disability; or you suffered dismemberment, then you’re legally allowed to pursue a personal injury claim against those responsible. This is often necessary after serious crashes because PIP coverage tends to have fairly low policy limits and won’t cover all damages.
Unfortunately, the other driver’s auto insurance company is likely to be even more difficult to deal with. They’ll do everything possible to push blame for the crash onto you, as the more fault they can pin on you, the less they’ll have to pay you.
Listed below are some of the most common causes of auto injury accidents in Utah, as well as who could be liable under each condition:
At Craig Swapp & Associates, we do everything we can to ensure that our clients get the full settlement they deserve and not the smaller amount the auto insurance company offers. We’ve helped car accident victims from all over Utah put their crashes behind them, and we can help you, too.
Schedule a free, no-pressure consultation with a capable Utah car accident lawyer by calling 800-404-9000 or by submitting the contact form found at the bottom of this page.
A Utah car accident lawyer from our firm will be more than happy to answer all of your questions during a free claim assessment.
When you’ve been in an auto accident, sometimes both parties can be partially responsible. However, even if you were partly to blame for the accident, you are still allowed to file an injury claim against the other responsible party, as long as you weren’t more than 50 percent responsible. This is called comparative fault.
Your damages can be reduced by the amount of fault that you are found responsible for, however.
In Utah, the time frame, also called the statute of limitations, on filing a personal injury claim for an auto wreck is four years from the date of the crash. As long as you file your auto injury claim within that time frame, you can obtain damages. If you don’t file in time, however, you will be barred from filing an injury claim for that auto accident at all. Also be aware that if you are wanting to file a personal injury claim against the government, the time frame is much shorter: You’ll only have one year.
After an auto accident, you can recover compensation for damages like lost income, medical costs, property damage, pain and suffering, emotional trauma, and more.
If you were partially to blame for your car accident in Utah, it may have an impact on your ability to recover compensation for your injuries and damages. Utah follows the rule of comparative negligence, which means that your recovery may be reduced by the percentage of fault assigned to you by the court or insurance company.
For example, if you were found to be 30% at fault for the accident, and your total damages were $10,000, your recovery would be reduced by 30% or $3,000. In other words, you would only be able to recover $7,000. It is important to note that if you are found to be 50% or more at fault for the accident, you may not be able to recover anything at all.
If you believe that you were partially to blame for your car accident in Utah, it is important to speak with an experienced personal injury attorney who can help you understand your legal rights and options. An attorney can also work to negotiate a fair settlement with the insurance company and help ensure that you receive the compensation you deserve.
If you’ve been involved in a car accident in Utah, you may be wondering when you should contact a car accident lawyer. The answer is that you should contact a lawyer as soon as possible after the accident. There are several reasons why you should do this.
First, a car accident lawyer can help you navigate the complex legal process that follows a car accident. They can advise you on what steps to take, what documents to gather, and what deadlines to meet. This can help ensure that your case proceeds smoothly and that you don’t miss any important deadlines.
Second, a car accident lawyer can help you determine who was at fault for the accident. This is important because it will determine whether you are entitled to compensation for your injuries and damages. If the other driver was at fault, you may be able to recover compensation from their insurance company. If you were partially at fault, a lawyer can help you understand how this may impact your recovery.
Finally, a car accident lawyer can help you negotiate a fair settlement with the insurance company. Insurance companies often try to minimize the amount they pay out in claims, but a lawyer can help ensure that you receive the full compensation you deserve for your injuries and damages.
If you’ve been in a car accident in Utah, you’re likely wondering what to expect from the claims process. As a Utah car accident lawyer, I can tell you that there are several steps you’ll need to take to ensure you receive the compensation you deserve:
Seek medical attention: Your health is the top priority after an accident, so it’s important to seek medical attention right away. This will also help document your injuries, which can be important in your claim.
Gather evidence: If possible, take photos of the accident scene and collect contact information from witnesses. You should also request a copy of the police report.
Contact an attorney: Before you speak to any insurance companies, it’s important to consult with a Utah car accident lawyer. We can help you understand your rights and determine the best course of action for your claim.
Notify your insurance company: You should notify your insurance company of the accident as soon as possible. However, it’s important to remember that their interests may not align with yours, so be careful about what you say and do.
Investigation: Your attorney will conduct an investigation into the accident to determine who was at fault. This may involve gathering evidence and consulting with experts.
Negotiation: Your attorney will negotiate with the other driver’s insurance company to determine a fair settlement amount. If a settlement cannot be reached, your attorney may advise you to file a lawsuit.
Settlement: If a settlement is reached, you’ll receive a check for the agreed-upon amount. This may take some time, as the insurance company will need to process the claim and issue the payment.
Lawsuit: If a lawsuit is necessary, your attorney will guide you through the process. This may include filing a complaint, going through discovery, and ultimately going to trial. It’s important to remember that a lawsuit can be a lengthy and stressful process, so it’s important to have an experienced attorney on your side.
To Donate a Backpack: Bring a new or used backpack to the event on July 29th between 11 AM – 1 PM