What Is the Average Payout for a Personal Injury Claim?
One of the most common questions that law firms get from Salt Lake City personal injury victims is how much they should be expecting from their claim. Knowing the mean payout for your type of injury can give you an idea of the settlement you should be expecting and how much your injury claim is worth.
In most states, a majority of personal injury claim payouts range from $20,000 to $50,000, depending on several factors. However, it’s important to understand that your compensation might be higher or lower than this based on the unique circumstances of your case.
What Determines My Personal Injury Claim Payout?
The only way to know how much you’ll potentially be receiving from your claim is by adding up your total damages.
Most personal injuries result in two major types of damages for which you can seek compensation. Economic damages comprise monetary losses you’ve suffered from the accident, such as medical bills, property damage, income lost due to missed days at work, ongoing care costs, and so on.
Noneconomic damages are non-monetary and more challenging to calculate. They reimburse for intangible damages like physical pain, emotional distress, and reduced quality of life caused by the accident.
In cases that involve gross negligence, a judge or jury may also award punitive damages, whose amount is often predetermined.
Another factor that can affect your injury claim payout is state laws. Some jurisdictions have a cap on the amount that a plaintiff can receive in a personal injury case. Your attorney knows all these laws in Utah and will put them into consideration when calculating the value of your claim.
Maximizing Your Injury Claim Payout
To make a profit, insurance companies are always looking for ways to reduce or even deny your claim altogether. Here are a few things you can do to ensure that your claim payout fully covers your damages:
- Seek Medical Attention – After a personal injury-causing accident, you should visit a doctor whether you feel any pain or not. Having a full medical report will prove the full impact of the accident on your health.
- Don’t Wait Too Long to File a Claim – If you wait to file your claim, the statute of limitations period might catch up with you and bar you from collecting your compensation.
- Do Not Accept the First Offer – Insurance adjusters are usually quick to present an initial offer to victims which in most cases is usually lower than the real cost of your damages.
- Documenting Evidence – If you’re in a position to, ensure that you document as much evidence as you can after an accident. This helps build a strong case to prove that the defendant was liable.
Get More Answers from a Personal Injury Lawyer
As a personal injury victim, you’re likely to have many questions about your claim. When should I file a claim? How do I know who’s at fault and who’s financially liable for my injuries? How much should I expect from my personal injury claim? Finding answers to all these without a personal injury lawyer can be daunting and time-consuming.
Review your case with an attorney from Craig Swapp & Associates to get all your questions answered. Send us a message through the contact form below or call our offices at 1-800-404-9000 to get started with your claim.
Awards & Associations:
- Types of Product Liability Claims
- Expecting the Unexpected – webinar by Todd Handley
- Montana Car Accident FAQ
- How Is a Personal Injury Settlement Paid Out?
- What Is the Average Payout for a Personal Injury Claim?
- Suing for a Roundup Cancer Diagnosis
- When to File a Defective Drug Lawsuit
- Common Types of Nursing Home Abuse
- Lower Stress in 3 Easy Steps Webinar with Kirk Duncan
- Mass Torts in the U.S.: Things to Know