Craig Swapp & Associates
800-404-9000 ONE CALL, THAT'S ALL.
Craig Swapp & Associates
800-404-9000 TAP TO CALL
Get Help for Any Type of Injury Case CASE EVALUATIONS ARE FAST, EASY, AND FREE.
They fight for you when you don’t have the strength to fight for yourself.
Shana S.
They didn’t settle for anything less than what I was entitled.
Cynda B.
Your help allowed me to focus on healing, which I so greatly needed.
Aimee F.

How Does Car Insurance Work in Montana?

Every state has its own rules and regulations when it comes to car insurance policies. Some states require things that other states do not. It’s always important to know what your particular state requires so that you always have the minimum requirements in case you get into a car accident

Most insurance companies will tell you the legal requirements when you first sign up on their website and select which state you are wanting to get car insurance for. They might also suggest you get more coverage to better protect yourself.

Insurance Requirements in Montana 

No matter what kind of license you have or what type of car you drive, you will need these minimum insurance requirements to drive your car legally in the state of Montana:

  • Bodily Injury – $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage – $20,000 per accident
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist – $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident 

The uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage can be rejected, though, if you prefer not to pay extra for that. However, if you’re a motorcyclist, you might want to consider getting this so that you know you’re covered in case of an accident with someone who doesn’t have their own insurance.

Every driver is required to carry liability insurance on their vehicle, no matter the age of the person or the age of the car. Most insurance companies will only offer policies that comply with the local laws; however, you should always compare the requirements listed above to make sure you are using a reliable and reputable company. 

Registration Requirements

Like in any other state, you will also need to have certain requirements for registration so your car has the correct paperwork in case you are pulled over or need to show proof of records. 

If you have just moved to Montana, you will need to change your driver’s license within 60 days of your new residence. You also need to show the following when you go to register the car and obtain insurance:

  • Proof of identity 
  • Proof of Montana residency 
  • Proof of authorized presence 

Ways a Lawyer Can Help with Car Insurance Issues 

If you think you have incorrect insurance and get into an accident, you might want to partner with a lawyer to help you through the court case and any other issues you might be having. Sometimes even when you have the correct coverage, dealing with car insurance claims and getting the payout you’re owed can be very hard. 

If you are experiencing any issues when it comes to the car insurance company, a good lawyer in your corner can be a huge help. 

In a Car Accident? Insurance Issues? Get Ahold of a Lawyer

Contact a lawyer today in Montana from Craig Swapp & Associates to help you with your accident aftermath and the car insurance claim process. Call our office today at 1-800-404-9000 or fill out the contact form below if you prefer not to chat over the phone. 

CONTACT US For a Free Consultation
or call: 800-404-9000