Salt Lake City Car Accident Claim Process
After a car accident, you may need to file an insurance claim. Working through the Salt Lake City car accident claim process can be daunting as there are a number of variables that must be factored in when determining the best way forward.
The process for filing a claim differs from state to state, so it’s important that you have the right information, especially if you have just recently relocated to Utah.
Get Help Filing Your Claim
The best way to go about filing a claim is to do it with the help of our office. As your car accident attorney, we know exactly how the Salt Lake City car accident claim process works.
Whose Insurance Should I File With?
In Utah, you have the option to file a claim with both your insurance and the other driver’s insurance carrier. Your own insurance company must fulfill all of the terms outlined in your policy, meaning they are obligated to pay for your medical bills if they are related to your accident.
However, if you do not have enough coverage personally, it may be necessary to also file a lawsuit seeking financial compensation from the other driver’s insurance company.
There Will Be an Investigation
When filing a claim with the other driver’s insurance, you can expect a protracted investigation as they try to prove that the other driver was not negligent. Their ultimate goal is either to avoid having to pay your claim or to pay as little as possible.
This is not situation you want to confront alone. It helps to have an experienced Salt Lake City car accident lawyer representing your best interests while negotiating with insurance companies.
Medical Expenses in a Salt Lake City Car Accident Claim
Utah state law requires that any person injured in a car accident must have the first $3,000 worth of medical expenses covered by his or her own insurance policy under personal injury protection.
Once this $3,000 has been exhausted, only then can you collect compensation from a claim against the responsible party’s insurance provider.
Who Is Responsible?
Salt Lake City, like all of Utah, has a comparative negligence law, which means that more than one of the drivers can be held responsible for an accident.
Under this law, you can collect compensation for damages only if you are found less than 50 percent responsible for the accident.
Any percentage you are found responsible for will reduce your overall settlement amount. For example, if you are found 10 percent responsible and are awarded a $10,000 settlement, your end settlement amount will be reduced by $1,000.
Get Help with the Salt Lake City Car Accident Claim Process
Insurance companies tend to drag out claims for as long as possible. Often they will even wait until after you have completed all medical treatments before settling a claim for liability and injury.
Don’t let the Salt Lake City car accident claim process intimidate you. Contact Craig Swapp & Associates to discuss your case and available options in further detail. Call us at 1-800-404-9000 or contact us online.