Salt Lake City DUI Accident Lawyer
The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Utah is 0.08 percent. Anyone driving with a BAC over the limit is driving under the influence (DUI) and is a risk to both his or herself and everyone else on the road.
Over 40 percent of car accidents in the United States occur as a result of driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you are unsure of what caused your accident, it pays to investigate whether alcohol was involved.
There is no excuse for drunk driving. If you were injured by an intoxicated driver, call our office to speak with a Salt Lake City DUI accident lawyer about your case and your right to sue for financial compensation.
Alcohol Use Impairs Judgment
Numerous studies have been conducted showing that people driving under the influence or while intoxicated are negligent due to impaired judgment.
With impaired vision, lower sensitivity, and an inability to make rational decisions as a result of alcohol use, a person who is driving while intoxicated poses a greater risk to other people on the road, which can result in catastrophic accidents.
Because alcohol use hinders judgment so severely, drunk driving often results in courts assigning the majority of the blame to the driver who was intoxicated.
Comparative Negligence and Drunk Driving
Utah follows comparative negligence laws, meaning that the judge will assign a percentage of responsibility for the crash to each of the parties involved in the accident. In the case of a DUI, however, the judge is more likely to side with the sober driver.
Since any percentage of fault assigned to you will reduce your settlement amount, it becomes extremely important to demonstrate the other driver’s fault as thoroughly as possible.
Gathering Evidence & Documentation
In some ways, a DUI case makes it easier to prove the other driver’s fault. Provided you called the police after the accident, the accident report will almost certainly mention the other driver’s intoxication as a major contributing factor.
In addition to evidence, you will also need documentation demonstrating how much the accident has cost you in medical expenses and damages.
You should save anything that might help to prove your case later:
- Accidents reports
- Medical evaluations
- Medical bills
- Pay stubs prior to the injury and after
- Receipts for any related expenses or repairs
- Documentation demonstrating money paid to people hired to assist you
Statute of Limitations
If the statute of limitations is reached, you will be unable to seek financial compensation through a personal injury lawsuit.
In Utah, the statute of limitations is four years for personal injury and three years for damage to property.
We recommend you file suit immediately so there is plenty of time to work through the process and negotiate a settlement. If a settlement can’t be reached out of court, a lawsuit will become necessary, which makes time of the essence.
Contact a Salt Lake City DUI Accident Lawyer
Drunk driving is an act of gross negligence. If you were injured in an accident caused by someone who was driving while intoxicated, contact Craig Swapp & Associates for a free consultation to discuss your case.
You deserve financial compensation for the injuries you have suffered. Contact a Salt Lake City DUI accident lawyer to discuss your options in further detail, call 1-800-404-9000 or contact us online through the form below.
Awards & Associations:
- Car Accidents
- Accident Liability
- Back Injuries
- Brain Injuries
- Broken Bones
- Claim Process
- Common Injuries
- Common Types
- Common Causes
- Comparative Negligence
- Delayed Injuries
- Defective Parts
- Drowsy Driving
- Facial Injuries
- Head Injuries
- Interstate Accidents
- Lyft Accidents
- No-Fault Accidents
- Out-of-State Accidents
- Pokémon Go Accidents
- Rear-End Car Accidents
- Road Rage
- Rollover Accidents
- Seat Belt Injuries
- Shoulder Drop-Off
- Speeding Accidents
- Spine Injuries
- SUV Rollovers
- Teenager Car Accidents
- Wrongful Death
- Car Accident FAQ