Utah Workers Comp Rights
As an American and a resident of Utah, you’re guaranteed certain rights. One of those rights is the right to workers compensation in the event of an on-the-job injury.
Obtaining workers compensation benefits through your employer is a right, not a privilege, in the state of Utah. Nearly every employer across the state is required by law to carry workers comp insurance coverage.
While insurers do have the right to approve or deny claims, they do not have the right to deny deserving claimants the compensation they deserve. If you’d like to know more about what your Utah workers comp rights are, continue reading.
The Right to Coverage
From the day you are hired to work for your employer, you are eligible for workers compensation benefits in the event that you are injured or fall ill due to the requirements of your position. It doesn’t matter how long you’ve been with the company or how many hours you work each week—you should be covered.
When you suffer an injury on the job or fall ill as a result of the circumstances of your work, you will be able to collect workers comp benefits. There are only a handful of valid reasons an insurer can refuse your claim.
If you did not notify your employer that you suffered an injury within 180 days, if you were intoxicated or otherwise under the influence, if you were in violation of company policies (this could include working off the clock or engaging in horseplay), or if you were committing a crime and were injured, then you may be reasonably denied your right to Utah workers comp benefits.
Utah Workers Comp Benefits
Every deserving claimant will have the right to receive benefits from workers comp in the form of supplemental income and medical expense coverage.
Although the amount each individual will receive will depend on the nature of the injury, prior weekly income, and expected date of returning to work, each person’s benefits are determined using the same calculations.
No one is allowed to receive more than the state average weekly salary, and no one is allowed to collect benefits for more than the maximum of 312 weeks over a span of twelve years. Once this limit has been reached, a deserving claimant can begin collecting lifetime benefits or even Social Security Disability.
Utah workers compensation should provide coverage for the medical expenses surrounding the work illnesses or injuries of every employee. The state does not expect claimants to be liable for their own medical costs, such as hospital bills, medical equipment, copays, and the like.
Instead, the state expects insurance companies to be prepared to take responsibility for any and all medical expenses that result from work injuries or illnesses.
Speak with a Utah Workers Comp Lawyer
If you’re confused about the logistics of workers compensation benefits and have concerns regarding your rights as a work injury victim, reach out to a Utah workers comp rights lawyer at Craig Swapp & Associates today. You can schedule a free claim evaluation by giving us a call at 1-800-404-9000 or filling out the contact form below.